Academic focus

A further aspect of our tradition is a strong academic commitment. Most of our lawyers are academically active as authors or editors of textbooks and articles and also as lecturers. This is substantiated by roughly 40 honorary professorships and lectureships as well as several hundred publications. This claim to academic excellence is further reinforced by the fact that working for us usually requires a PhD.

In our experience, academic commitment and a high standard of advice to clients complement each other. It has often come about that concepts developed in our legal studies have later proved themselves of practical application in advising our clients, and these have even, in some cases, become market standards.


Academy of the Chamber of Architects (Akademie der Architektenkammer)
Alanus University of Arts and Social Sciences Nordrhein-Westfalen (Alanis Hochschule für Kunst und Gesellschaft Nordrhein-Westfalen)
Bauhaus-Universität Weimar
Bergische Universität Wuppertal
Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences
Fachhochschule für öffentliche Verwaltung NRW

Fresenius University of Applied Sciences

Friedrich Schiller University Jena

Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf)
Biberach University of Applied Sciences (Hochschule Biberach)
Deggendorf Institute of Technology (Hochschule Deggendorf)
Berlin School of Economics and Law (Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht Berlin)
Koblenz University of Applied Sciences (Hochschule Koblenz)
Hochschule Niederrhein
RheinMain University of Applied Sciences (Hochschule RheinMain)

Ruhr West University of Applied Sciences
IST-Hochschule für Management Düsseldorf

Leuphana University of Lüneburg

RWTH Aachen University (Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen)
Steinbeis University Berlin (Steinbeis-Hochschule Berlin)
Technical University of Berlin
Technical University of Darmstadt

Technical University of Dortmund
Technical University of Munich
Saarland University
Leipzig University

University of Bochum (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)

University of Cologne
University of Siegen
University of Munster (Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster)

Westphalian University of Applied Sciences